Gaol in the Town Hall
Visit one of Berwick's hidden gems and find out how prisoners were accommodated from the mid-1700s to 1849. See the condemned cell, which housed prisoners the night before they were executed. There has been a Town Hall on this site for many centuries. The present building was constructed in the 1750s and 1760s by the Guild of Freemen to act as the seat of local government in Berwick and to administer law and order. The gaol was constructed at this time to house both criminals, drunks and debtors. It remained in use until 1849 when the prisoners were transferred to the new Prison in Wallace Green. By this time, the Town Hall Gaol was considered unsuitable because prisoners did not have individual cells.
Saturday 13:00-15:00 and Sunday 13:00-15:00 (no booking required)
Please note there are steep stairs up to the Gaol from the Guildhall.
Georgian Berwick (Walk)
What was once called Rotten Row was transformed into Ravensdowne in the 18th century. Many of the houses here were populated by Berwick's wealthier citizens. This walk will take you down his quiet back street. Discover
family histories and architectural gems with Berwick Archivist, Linda Bankier.
Sunday 11:00 (about one hour) (booking required)
Meet at the seats on the green area near the Parade Car Park
Goldwing Light Parade
In aid of Berwick RNLI, this event compliments Berwick Heritage Open Days. Come and see the static display of bikes in the Parade Car Park during the day. Enjoy the main event in the evening – a spectacular parade of illuminated Goldwing bikes around the town followed by a firework display supported by Berwick Town Council.
Saturday: Static display: 10:30-16:00, Parade: 20.30, Firework display: 21:30 (no booking required)
Parade car park (Venue 9 on map which is also the start of Elizabethan Berwick Walk.)